Brizzy nurses thread

Guest Mark and Jo

Guest allsopps3
Any Brizzy nurses can post questions/advice here! Specially for us!

Hi, Jo.

Can I ask you and any other Brisbane nurses if the credit crunch has affected nurse recruitment in any way? I read a post on another forum that someone had heard of nurses having their hours reduced and carers being laid off...?

This would be the nail in the coffin of our plans if so:frown:

Thanks,

Tracey.

• 1 month later...
Guest magic

Nurses in Brisbane

Hi, i have been nursing here for 3 years and know lots of nurses, all of which are employed and continue to work the hours they choose. As a family we have felt no effects financially. Infact i have just had a nice pay rise!

Guest allsopps3

Thanks, Magic.

Where abouts are you working? I've just accepted a job offer at Greenslopes and wondering if I've done the right thing??

Tracey

Guest linds
ive just accepted a job a brisbane private hospital. anyone know what they are like to work for or what reputation they have??:eek:linds x

Guest magic

Nursing in Brisbane

Nursing here is very different to the UK - sorry the medical system is different i should say not really nursing. In the UK my speciality was palliative care which i was hoping to do here. I was open minded and looked around on arrival. I popped into Redlands public and private hospital and spent some time with a nursing sister asking questions.

With no local hospice i happened to pop into a GP practice and again nose around and ask questions. A practice manager of a local GP's offered me work there and then! try and see. Three years later..........i love it, great hours no weekends and no nights. I have topped up my degree with an Aussie qualification and now practice independently in a GP'S. Totally different role and so varied, we do surgery,trauma,womens health, baby care, wounds, health plans, home visits and now teaching.